I’m Letting Go Of Fear

Some say fear is a good thing, it tells you were the edge is……but if that’s what it’s designed for, why am I afraid of spiders? Why is it that every time I get a headache I’m convinced it’s a brain aneurism and my death is eminent? I can not believe how many hours of sleep I have lost because I was freaking out over something that seemed like it was the end of the world as I knew it, yet turned out being nothing at all.

When I was a kid, I feared when my mom went out that she wouldn’t come home and I would end up homeless, eating cat food…..don’t ask, but I equate homelessness with eating cat food for some reason…..anyway….. this wasn’t just a passing thought either, it would torment me, I would pace the living room, my stomach tied up in knots, crazy thoughts running through my head, I would keep looking out the window hoping to see her car so that I could stop the scary movie playing in my mind. The one where the police come to the door, her funeral, living the rest of my life sleeping in the streets, homeless and yes if your wondering, eating cat food, and then ultimately dying alone …….. SERIOUSLY ……. where did I develop this fear? I can’t imagine these fears were a direct result from watching Sesame Street.

As you can see my fear has no boundaries, it is limitless and more often than not a figment of my imagination. I sometimes wonder how many of my decisions have been the direct result of my fear.

As I continued to ponder my irrational fear I decided to look up it’s definition and this is what the dictionary says……Fear is a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined. Yep, you read that right, fear can be REAL or IMAGINED…

I don’t know about you, but I’ve got this Spotify Playlist called Fears Greatest Hits that sometimes gets stuck on repeat in my head and it plays all day long……but I know these fears are irrational, a bunch of lies and that fear is a choice and that if I don’t take control of my thoughts, then someone or something else will. I also know that the opposite of fear is faith …… and so I begin to build a new playlist based on Faith, not Fear…..

Fear…..It’s Impossible | Faith…..All Things Are Possible (Luke 18:27)
Fear…..I’m Too Tired | Faith….I Will Give You Rest (Matthew 11:28-30)
Fear…..I Can’t Go On | Faith…..My Grace Is Sufficient (II Corinthians 12:9)
Fear…..I’m Confused | Faith….I Will Direct Your Steps (Proverbs 3:5-6)
Fear…..Can’t Do It | Faith…..You Can Do All Things (Philippians 4:13)
Fear…..It’s Not Worth It | Faith…..It Will Be Worth It (Romans 8:28)
Fear…..I Can’t Forgive Myself | Faith…..Forgive You (Romans 8:1)
Fear…..I Can’t Manage | Faith……I Will Supply All Your Needs (Philippians 4:19)
Fear…..I’m Afraid | Faith…..I Have Not Given You A Spirit Of Fear (II Timothy 1:7)
Fear…..I’m Always Worried | Faith….Cast All Your Cares On Me (1 Peter 5:7)
Fear…..I Feel All Alone | Faith…..I Will Never Leave You Or Forsake You (Hebrews 13:5)

So the next time Fears Greatest Hits start to play in my mind, I’m going to switch to my new Faith Playlist and start taking control of my thought life because what I think creates my world and you know what, I don’t like living in the darkness of fear, I much prefer the light of faith……

Tiffany

P.S. I just want to take a moment and thank WCF and everyone that spoke these words of faith into my life, your efforts have not gone to waste, they just took a little time to fully sink in, I am eternally grateful.

Leave a Reply

