My Alarm Clock Signals a Distress Call and Prospective

I wake up to the sound of the alarm clock, which by all accounts I find irritating and a horrible way to start the day. However, I need to ask myself exactly why I’m irritated, its not as if the alarm clock decided on its own to wake me up, I set it myself because I have something to do.

It’s a Thursday morning, the day I go cycling with the Fietsmaatjes (translation – bike buddies in Dutch) and explore my new country. Of course I’m rushing around frantic because the night before I indulged in my favourite pastime – procrastination – and now I’m scrambling to get out the door in time.

Just in case you have envisioned that my cycling escapades resemble anything like the Tour de France, let me clear that up right now……it’s a group of seniors that cycle together to stay active…..yep, I said it, I cycle with seniors! So whatever image that conjures up in your mind, run with it!

Hastily I head out the door only to forget the key for my bike, back inside I go, turning the apartment upside down. Now, I’m yelling at Patrick, “When was the last time I rode my bike!?” my lack of planning is always his fault.

Did I mention that Patrick has worked all night and has only just gotten to bed? No of course not because at this moment I am the centre of my own universe! Yet even in his semi conscious state his brain is trying to help me locate my keys.

Remember, you rode your bike Tuesday!” He triumphantly proclaims.

To which I holler back, “Tuesday, Tuesday, where was I going? What was I wearing? Did I have on my beige shorts? Remember my keys fall out of the pockets when I sit down in those shorts. Remember that happened at your moms the other day. Oh great, now I’ve lost the key and I don’t have a spare.” Yep, I’ve had my bike over a year and I still haven’t gotten around to getting a spare key made …. procrastination at its finest.

You can take my bike,” he offers.

“I don’t like the seat, it’s tilted and it makes me feel like I’m going to slide off the back!”

Finally I recall my outfit from Tuesday and of course my key is in the pocket of my jacket. With that I storm back out the door only to return 5 minutes later because it’s 60 degrees outside with 18 kph wind and in my infinite wisdom I choose to adorn my feet in flip flops……I look at the clock and now it’s too late and I won’t make it to the meeting point in time …… enter my 5 year old self who decides the only solution to the situation is a temper tantrum followed by 30 minute pity party ….. well at least she doesn’t roll up into the fetal position and start sucking her thumb.

Suddenly, my inside voice is screaming NOW WHAT?!!!! as I’m jolted back to reality for the second time today by my very irritating alarm clock. I hastily grab it, look at the screen and then it hits me just how petty my morning tirade is.

Everyday at noon, my alarm clock goes off regardless of where I am, or what I’m doing. This twelve o’clock wake up call is very different than the one that startles me out of my slumber. It is my #middaybabymidday wake up call. A call initiated by Bobbie Houston of Hillsong Church for our Global Sisterhood to unite in prayer for the woman and girls that are victims of the horrific atrocity being inflicted by ISIS. I close my eyes to pray and I can’t stop the unspeakable images running through my mind …… of women and young girls, being sold, forced into marriage and even raped, I’m overwhelmed, my heart breaks, I can find no words to pray ….. instead I hear their international distress cry to the world …. MAYDAY! MAYDAY! MAYDAY!

I open my eyes and take in all that surrounds me and I realize how truly blessed I am and if your life circumstances provide you the ability to read this…..you’re blessed too. I know we all have our struggles, believe me I am not immune, but we have freedom and choices…..where they do not.

So I cry out to God, MAYDAY! MAYDAY! MAYDAY!, to me the situation looks ominous and I feel helpless, but I know through the power of prayer You can make a way, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

Tiffany

2 thoughts on “My Alarm Clock Signals a Distress Call and Prospective

  1. I just pray that I can encourage even just one person through their journey. Let them know they are not alone then it will be so worth baring my soul through my stories. Love you lots, Tiffany

    Like

Leave a Reply

