So…..Now What?

Sometimes I feel so inundated with information overload that my mind is constantly filtering everything that enters through all five of senses trying to determine the who, the what, the where, the when and the why. I can’t even begin to comprehend how my brain actually processes everything that comes in and sometimes I question the answer my own mind comes up with …… Have you ever been in a situation where you are overcome with emotion and yet at the same time your mind is trying to rationalize and make sense of it at the same time?
That’s exactly what happened to me after my first Church experience. I was so overwhelmed with emotion that first Sunday morning, I felt like I had found my place, my home and yet when we left and I gained control over my faculties, I wanted to conclude that I had gone absolutely mad! How could I, someone of reasonable intelligence, possibly entertain the idea of believing in God? Had science not discredited any evidence of God? I had to admit however, that I didn’t really know the answer to that question. I had only assumed that to be the case ….. I took authority as truth, when it should be the other way around …. truth is authority. I suddenly realized that I had allowed my worldview to be influenced by the opinions of those in authority who yelled the loudest.
So where does one begin? Well l started with the Bible, because to be fair how can I criticize something I know nothing about. Aside from the stories of Adam and Eve, Noah, The Ten Commandments, Christmas and Easter I was embarrassed by my profound level of illiteracy. I read through the Bible in record speed, and as I flipped the pages I was fascinated by how many ideas, thoughts, viewpoints, concepts ….. we credit to famous people that are actually biblical truths. Famous people have been taking credit for plagiarizing the Bible for centuries! Mind you many had taken God out of the equation, but the message is still the same. I see it all time, in fact just this morning on the Ellen show she said something about starting everyday with being grateful …… here is just one example from the Bible referencing being grateful “Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus” 1 Thessalonians 5:18 …… and yet I’m sure many soaked it all up as if she had some Devine Revelation that the rest of us could learn from …. honestly, our court system should be tied up for eternity with copyright infringements!
I had always thought that I would have to let go of any form of reasoning or undergo a lobotomy, in order to believe in God, but as I continued my quest beyond the Bible I found an entire world filled with scientists, mathematicians, and philosophers who actually believed in God and had evidence of His existence. Funny, I never see those headlines in the news, these findings are never taught in school.
Albert Einstein once said ~ “The more I study science, the more I believe in God.” When did the narrative change? When did we become so afraid that science and belief in God were contradictive?

Leave a Reply

