I Finally Got it and I Won’t Forget

Today the sun is shining, the autumn leaves just started to turn ….. I can’t imagine a more perfect day! I’m in awe of the wonders all around me, I want to pinch myself to make sure its real. There are so many things assaulting my senses, the warmth of the sun on my skin, the air in my lungs feels fresh, the sound of the fallen leaves crunching beneath my feet, the vibrant colour that surrounds me, I can’t help but smile …… but then I hear that ever present small voice inside me ….. Yes Tiffany, look around you, it’s amazing isn’t it? But, do have any idea how many people have given their lives for you to even have this one moment, this one experience? Do you even realize how fortunate you are to have been born in such a country? Not to mention the sacrifices made for the freedom you enjoy in your new country? Do you have any idea?

Honestly, up until this very moment I never gave it much thought. Who am I kidding, I never gave it any thought! I’ve always just taken my freedom for granted, as if I was somehow entitled to this life and the freedom that it offers.

Entitlement …… there it is, I said it, that’s the problem.

Suddenly my eyes are wide open and I have a clarity I have never known. I’ve been wandering through life with this sense of entitlement, almost to the point of being narcissistic. If you read my blog Sorry I Inconvenienced You, you know all to well that I am no stranger to putting my wants and needs above others! So I’m sure you can understand the difficulty I have getting my head around the concept that complete strangers died in the line of duty, fighting for my freedom. Me ….. someone who doesn’t even think it’s her duty to hold the elevator and wait for someone if I’m in a rush, let alone give my life up for them. Yeah, I know I’m a work in progress.

As I begin to understand the sacrifice that not only the ones who served but also their families, I’m struck by a deep sense of remorse. How is it that in just two generations I became oblivious to the human cost of my freedom?  Is it because the actual freedoms they fought for are being challenged in both countries I call home that forced me to finally wake up.

So today I honour those who sacrificed for my freedom and you’ll be happy to know that I’m finally awake and forever grateful!

2 thoughts on “I Finally Got it and I Won’t Forget

Leave a Reply

