It’s Valentine’s Day 1976

With Valentine’s Day approaching, I can feel my anxiety levels rising and I can’t help but reflect back as to why I detest this day so much.

For me it all boils down to the Grade 2 Valentine’s Day Card Exchange ….

It’s 1976 all over again, the year of Charlie’s Angels, Dorothy Hamill haircuts, high waisted bell bottom jeans ….. and me, my 7 year old self.

When I was a kid my mom would take me to the store to buy a box of Valentine’s Day cards. When I got home I would open the box and spread them out in front of me. I would spend the days leading up to Valentine’s Day sorting through the cards, reviewing the pictures, reading what they said and then deciding which card I would give to each of my friends.  Then I would painstakingly write out my Valentine’s, bring them to school and then hand them out. And every year the same thing would happen, I would be left with feelings of disappointment and sadness because I always handed out more than I received. I tried to tell myself that it didn’t matter, but it did.

How can something that happened over 40 years ago, something so trivial as a Grade 2 Valentine’s Day Card Exchange taint my view on a day set aside to celebrate love? In fact to this day I willfully go out of my way not to celebrate this day.

And then there’s Patrick …… my other half, my polar opposite ….. he LOVES Valentine’s Day! He is the epitome of the die hard romantic.  He will adorn the hallway with rose petals leading to the bathroom where a warm bubble bath awaits me. He sends me random voice notes of love songs he hears on the radio that remind him of us. He makes playlists of love songs to dance to in the living room. He will go to a restaurant ahead of time, drop off my gift so that its waiting for me at the table upon our arrival. Yep, he’s THAT guy.

Even though he doesn’t realize it, he has slowly been softening my heart towards Valentine’s Day. Replacing my memories from 1976 with new ones all the time because he loves by the simple words found in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

“Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”
‭‭
Where was he when I was 7?

Happy Valentine’s Day!
Tiffany, no longer 7 years old
His for sowing

Image: Sony Pictures, ABC

4 thoughts on “It’s Valentine’s Day 1976

  1. Ah Patrick, so sweet! I say take it cause as much as that seems foreign or uncharacteristic for some of us, it is exactly the character of God. His love for us is beyond what we can ever phathom-so deep and wide and unconditional. How, seriously, could Jesus have shown us the great love He did after all we-human kind, did to Him. And yet the word tells us over and over again He does and that greatest sacrifice was because of the love of the father for us and then of His son for us. So we are each worth it to be doted over, though society and experiences have told us otherwise. Makes John 3:16 very appropriate, ” For God so loved the world that He gave his only begotten son, that whosoever believeth on Him would not perish but have everlasting life”. Now that is some love!!
    Love you Tiffany!! Happy Valentines Day!!
    Your friend
    Julie

    Like

Leave a Reply

