Planting Trees Under Whose Shade I May Never Sit

If I could pick a super power, I would want the power to speak in the secret language of movie quotes. I’m always in awe of people who have the ability to watch a movie and then interject those one liners into everyday conversation ….. I on the other hand suck at remembering movie quotes. It always seems that people in the movies can verbalize how I feel with an eloquence that I sometimes lack ….. hence why the super power would be so useful. A case in point was the other day, I was watching a movie and one of the main characters said something that made me pause, but when I tried to remember exactly what they said I had already forgotten it! So like all of us who limp along in life without this super power, I hit the rewind button and played the scene over and over until I was able to jot it all down. Mind you, I’ve never actually had this conversation with anyone so I’m just assuming that’s what other people do …. or maybe I’m the only person on planet earth who’s DNA has this mutation and it’s really not a super power only a few chosen people have but a defect I have …..

Anyway, back to the movie and the quote ….

“There’s nothing I respect more than someone planting trees under whose shade they may never sit.” ~ Ty Burley, The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

As I sit here at 46 pondering life’s big questions during this season of my life, the one question that burns deepest for me is wanting the dash on my headstone to mean something. I want my life to have mattered, to have made a difference in the world, to leave this world better than I found it, to be a part of something bigger than myself. I don’t want a life lived on cruise control. That’s not the life that God intended us to live. He wants us to live a life of fearless abandon and follow him. Fearless in faith, fearless in obedience, fearless in generosity, fearless in our love for others.

But I often find myself asking …. How?

I’ve prayed and asked God, “How can I plant a tree under whose shade I may never sit?” Truth be told, I have never felt that I had much to offer and if anything I’ve probably taken more than I have given back to the world. I don’t have much by means of material things, since it’s been almost two years that I’ve been waiting for a work visa. So other than money what do I have to give?

Then it hit me.  What do I have an abundance of?  Time!  I could give my time to anyone who needed it but then like everything in my life right now, I hesitate not knowing what my future holds. The constant narration in my head goes something like this, “If I volunteer and then I have to return to Canada for 90 days then what? You would be leaving someone high and dry, a gap to fill that your absence would create.”  However this time the narration was different, I felt God telling me to volunteer anyway, even if it would only be short term, that I could still make a difference in someone’s life. So I mentioned it to a girl at Church who over a cup of coffee recommended I connect myself to Hillsong Sisterhood. You maybe asking yourself ….. What is Hillsong Sisterhood?

The Sisterhood is about every day women using what is in their hands to make a difference, so that women of all ages can feel empowered and flourish through out every season of life.

“Our heartbeat is to place value upon womanhood. Our mandate is to gather a company of women who recognize and believe in their potential. Our adventure is to make the world a better place. Our desire is to love God, be kind to His children and make Him famous throughout the entire earth.” ~ Bobbie Houston

To share, encourage and empower women so that we can all walk into our God given potential to make a difference in the world …. I don’t think I could have found a better place to plant a tree under whose shade I may never sit.

image

His for sowing

My prayer is that you will click the links to learn more about Hillsong and Sisterhood, you might be surprised to find a campus near you since we are one house with many rooms all over the world.

One thought on “Planting Trees Under Whose Shade I May Never Sit

  1. Een mooi geschreven tekst! Wat goed dat je nadenkt over wat je voor anderen kunt betekenen, zeker nu je een overvloed aan tijd hebt. Ik denk dat we in deze levensfase (we zijn ongeveer van dezelfde leeftijd) meer en meer beseffen dat we ook iets voor anderen en voor onze gemeenschap moeten doen. Wat je ook doet, het maakt niet uit als je tijdelijk daarmee moet stoppen. Wat je gedaan hebt voor iemand of voor je omgeving is heel waardevol! Doen!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

